Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Jim Langabeer | Secret Islands - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Digital sound file mp3

Jim Langabeer | Secret Islands - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Audio/visual Publication year: 2017



To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Musician, composer, arranger, teacher, and respected pioneer within the New Zealand jazz community, Jim Langabeer releases is his very first album on Rattle, and judging by the quality of Secret Islands, it’s not before time!

“Two things immediately come to mind with this exceptional, challenging and rewarding album: Given his manifest talent that he has gifted to other’s albums, why has Jim Langabeer's name never appeared as a leader on New Zealand albums? Those with a ear to the long history of jazz may hear references to the construction of pieces by famous saxophone quartets or the stately elegance of Ellington, the free jazz of America in the early Seventies, eerie soundtracks, Maori waiata and so much more.” — Graham Reid, Elsewhere


Jim Langabeer | tenor saxophone, flute, alto flute, putorino
Roger Manins | alto saxophone
Neil Watson | guitars, pedal steel
Rosie Langabeer | piano, Fender Rhodes, organ
Eamon Edmundson-Welles | bass
Chris O’Connor | drums

Click below to hear audio samples and download individual tracks:

  1. Bad call
  2. Rata flowers
  3. What if
  4. The big smoke
  5. Tangi
  6. Out of harm's way
  7. Hinemoa and Tutanekai
  8. Orakei Korako
  9. Freequency
  10. Central plateau
  11. Waiata o te Taniwha


Publisher note

Rattle Records