Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Trans Tasman: A Journey Into New Zealand Jazz - CD


Trans Tasman: A Journey Into New Zealand Jazz - CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2004

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


There is an old joke in Sydney that if all the Kiwis went home there would be no jazz scene left! This may be a slight exaggeration of the truth, but it is fair to say that New Zealand musicians have, and continue to become integral parts of jazz scenes all over the world. This compilation captures just one small portion of the great number of Kiwi jazz musicians who are creating exciting original music.

Each artist on this compilation has a very unique musical voice. From the beautifully dark piano of Mike Nock, to the free excursions of Jeff Henderson, to the funky horn of Matthew Ottignon, this album will take you on a real journey into New Zealand Jazz.

Track Listing: 1. Norwegian Bush – Roger Manins – Project Shoint 2. The Essence – Rick Robertson – Baecastuff 3. The Ambo – Aron Ottignon Trio 4. The Knife Fighter – Cameron Deyell 5. Head on the Tracks – Jeff Henderson Trio 6. Strata – Mike Nock Trio 7. Shallop – CL-BOB 8. The Fall of No. 19 – Gerard Masters Trio 9. Bad Babysitter – Matthew Ottignon Sextet 10. Good Friday – The Norman Meehan Quartet 11. And a Good Time Was Had By All – Jann Rutherford Trio 12. West Coast Ballad – Derrick/Masters Duo


Publisher note

Yellow Eye Music

Dedication note

This album is dedicated to pianist Jann Rutherford