Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Norman Skipp


Born: 1971 Website  


Norman Skipp (b.1971) is a New Zealand composer/sonic artist, video artist and online editor currently based in Manchester, U.K. He graduated with a Bachelor of Music from The University of Auckland in 1994 after studies with Jack Body, David Farquhar and Ross Harris at Victoria University of Wellington, completing his degree with John Elmsly and John Rimmer in Auckland.

Skipp has worked primarily in the electro-acoustic medium often collaborating with other artists to create works such as Safe In Sound and Feast, multileveled works blending sonic art, butoh, theatre, video art and instrumental performance and Epithalamion, a live–processing realisation of E. E. Cummings poem with actor Michael Hurst for the (09)03 Contemporary Music Festival. His video and sound work has been performed in New Zealand, Australia, U.S.A., U.K., France and Canada. Recent works include Beyond Skin, a mixed media dance collaboration with choreographer Kathleen Skipp and An Aversion to Light [2], a short dance film collaboration with choreographer Kristian Larsen and composer leyton. Large scale collaborations with Australia based director/dancer/choreographer, Gabrielle New, Creature and The Thing with Feathers, had successful seasons in Melbourne. Norm created a film soundtrack for 45 RPM, which received its premiere in New Zealand In September 2014. Recently he collaborated with new music ensemble Vonnegut Collective to create ...tiny lights..., inspired by the writings of Haruki Murakami.

Norm travelled to the U.K. and U.S.A. in February 2006 where he performed Of Breath, a duo for clarinet and electronic sounds, with clarinettist Gretchen Dunsmore. Norm recently spent an inspirational four months studying at la Centre de Creation Musicale Iannis Xenakis (CCMIX) in Paris at the beginning of 2007, where he realised The Right to Remain Silent.

International performances of his video and sound work have taken place in New Zealand, Australia, U.S.A., U.K., France, Canada and Iceland as part of festivals such as NextWave, Soliton, Pulsefield, 34th New Zealand International Film Festival 2002, RAFLOST 2011, Festival Licènces and Synthèse.

Composed (15)

Behind Those Eyes That Smile

for piano, timpani and tenor, 4m

Beyond Skin

a mixed media dance collaboration


electroacoustic, 8m 39s


electroacoustic, a contemporary dance collaboration with Matt Smith, 5m 48s


for cello, double bass, B flat clarinet, bass clarinet, bass trombone and percussion, 5m


for cor anglais, clarinet and bassoon, 10m 30s

Of Breath

for B flat clarinet with electronic sounds and live processing (two performers), 15m 10s


for solo violin, 4m 10s


for bass trombone and sound projection, 12m

The Right To Remain Silent

acousmatic, 17m 40s

The Void

electroacoustic, 6m


electronic work, 8m


for cello, double bass and percussion, 8m

Ventral Stream

for clarinet quartet, 1m


for clarinet and mixed media

Recordings (1)