Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Piano Concerto

for solo piano and orchestra

  ·  Duration:  20m

Duration:  20m

Composer:   Leonie Holmes

Films, Audio & Samples

Leonie Holmes: Piano Concer...

Embedded video
See details ➔


The concerto is in three movements [Moto perpetuo, Delicate and rippling, Meccanico], all exploring the same material, transformed each time into a different musical personality. The first movement is a bubbling moto perpetuo stream of consciousness. The final chords of the movement also provide the opening chords for the more introverted second movement. Hidden inside this movement are repeated staccato notes in the brass, and these form the opening material for the third movement. This movement opens with a duet between piano and xylophone on a single note, which gradually morphs into a relentless octatonic flood of notes.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra