Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for violoncello and strings

Year:  2023   ·  Duration:  21m
Instrumentation:  solo violincello, string orchestra (violins I, violins II, violas, celli, contrabassi)

Year:  2023
Duration:  21m
Instrumentation  solo violincello, string or...

Composer:   Andrew Perkins

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first 2 pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Concerto for Violoncello and Strings is an extremely passionate and dark work. The three movements represent Joy, Love, and Hope. The first movement is a joyful dance; the second movement is a passionate expression of love; the third movement represents a prayer of Hope. The concerto was written for the famous cellist Heleen du Plessis.

The work is in three movements:

1. Joy: The music is based on an Indian raga scale, and is fast and joyful. In the middle section, the musical material from the first section is inverted.
2. Love: This music is deeply and darkly passionate, with rich chromatic harmonies and passages of polyphony.
3. Hope: This movement represents a prayer of Hope. The music is again based on an Indian raga scale, and its polyphonic texture is built over an ever present ostinato. The movement ends with a musical gesture that sounds like a question. Is Hope fulfilled?

Dedication note

for Heleen du Plessis

Contents note

  1. Allegro (Joy)
  2. Lento (Love)
  3. Adagio (Hope)