Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Flute of Spring

for mezzo-soprano, mixed-voice choir and piano

Year:  2022   ·  Duration:  11m

Year:  2022
Duration:  11m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1–3 of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The starting point for this short cycle was the third movement, written as an entry in the Twyford Singers 60th Anniversary Composition Competition 2022 (UK). “Summer Streams” was one of three entries short-listed for performance in June 2022, and subsequently was placed 1st in the competition. The original version was for choir and piano, without soloist.

The three poems are by Bliss Carman. William Bliss Carman (1861-1929) was Canadian-born but spent much of his life living as a writer and editor in the United States. Unusually, he made most of his living from his poetry, and completed more than fifty books of poetry. The competition referenced above suggested texts relating to rivers and streams and/or music would be most acceptable. “Summer Streams” poetically describes a stream running through a landscape, sounding like music running through our dreams. The other two poems make a cycle of sorts and are sometimes printed together. They all reference streams and give a picture of the progression from winter to summer.

Commissioned note

“The Flute of Spring” was written for Pakuranga Choral Society (Auckland), for their second concert of 2022. The mezzo-soprano solo part was written for a former student of the composer, Sarah Court.

Contents note

  1. Winter Streams
  2. The Flute of Spring
  3. Summer Streams

Text note

Texts by Bliss Carman