Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Fugue and Dance: MMXX

for recorder quartet

Year:  2020   ·  Duration:  7m 30s
Instrumentation:  D, Tr, T, B

Year:  2020
Duration:  7m 30s
Instrumentation  D, Tr, T, B

Chris Adams

Composer:   Chris Adams


Written for SATB recorder quartet, Fugue and Dance: MMXX, is a personal response to 2020. An attempt to frame and order the trauma, disjointed and peculiar situation we currently find ourselves in. Fugue has a double meaning; both as the musical form, but also as a pyschological state in which the patient affected seems to be able to perform acts with full awareness but upon recovery has no memory of what they have done. The dance has interspliced and juxtaposed sections, with cross-rhythmic interplay between the different instruments.

Fugue and Dance: MMXX received a highly commended award in the Orpheus Music Composition Competition 2020.

Click here to purchase hardcopy score from Orpheus Music

Click here to purchase digital score from Orpheus Music

Contents note

I. Fugue
II. Dance