Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for solo marimba or string quartet

Year:  2009   ·  Duration:  7m
Instrumentation:  marimba (5 octaves) or 2 violins, viola and cello

Year:  2009
Duration:  7m
Instrumentation  marimba (5 octaves) or 2 vi...

Composer:   Justus Rozemond

Films, Audio & Samples

Justus Rozemond: Chaconne —...

Embedded video
See details ➔


The Chaconne is a four-voiced chorale, exploiting the beauty of the marimba roll. Written for the 25th anniversary of marimbist Yoshiko Tsuruta, the piece has 25 bars, and each phrase consists of 25 beats.

The work combines the form of a chaconne – here expressed as a repetitive ascending scale in the bass – with classical sonata form. The first two sections present the primary and secondary theme in the keys of c#-minor and G major respectively. The last section combines both themes in c#-minor, without transposing any of the original pitches. During the development section (sections 3 and 4), the bass line steadily rises chromatically right across the range of the instrument

The score is available from the composer (contact