Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Clare Concerto

Concerto for Orchestra composed for the Irish Memory Orchestra

Year:  2013   ·  Duration:  1h
Instrumentation:  4 Uilleann Pipes, 4 Concertinas, 4 Harps (Irish & Concert), 4 Flutes doubling Tin Whistle, 2 Oboes (Oboe 1 doubles Cor Anglais+Tin Whistle), Clarinet in Bb, 3 Electric Guitars, Tenor Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Trumpet in Bb, 2 Trombones, Bronze Age Irish Horns (2 players minimum), Percussion (3 players minimum), Percussion instruments used – Timpani, Xylophone, 2 Drum Kits, Shakers, 2 Bodhráns, 2 Glockenspiels, Suspended Cymbals, Strings, optional Youth Strings Section

Year:  2013
Duration:  1h
Instrumentation  4 Uilleann Pipes, 4 Concert...

Dave Flynn

Composer:   Dave Flynn

Films, Audio & Samples

Dave Flynn: The Clare Conce...

Embedded video
See details ➔


It is customary for composers of contemporary orchestral music to write long programme notes explaining the intricate technical details of their music to the audience. I’ve lately abandoned the idea of a technical programme note and instead do something a little more creative. I write Programme Poems. So here’s a Programme Poem for the Clare Concerto.


EAST CLARE The Siege of Ennis We start with a siege, an imaginary kind As if Ennis was a town in pre-historic times Bodhráns sound the slow battle march That warns us the siege is about to start From the left come the locals with Bronze Age Horns Blaring trumpet calls, the enemy to warn From the right come outsiders led by Carnyx Calls They meet in the centre. Then there’s a free for all

Contents note

I - East Clare II - North Clare III - West Clare

A tunebook containing the main melodies of the work is available here