Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for alto flute and guitar

Year:  2006   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  2006
Duration:  7m

Dave Flynn

Composer:   Dave Flynn

Films, Audio & Samples

Dave Flynn: Grief — AUDIO

Embedded audio
See details ➔


The slow air ‘Grief’ originates in Music for the Departed a long suite describing. in music. the grieving process. It was originally composed for Irish fiddle, classical violin and guitar in 2006. I have made several arrangements of this since including a version for flute and guitar.

This is the flute and guitar version of the opening slow air ‘Grief’.

The original piece was dedicated to my late Mum Joan Jennings who died in 2001 and Aunt Catherine Flynn who died in 2005. Both died from cancer long before their times.

The piece has since taken on wider significance and seems to resonate generally with people as a piece of music to help with the grieving process. Aisling Agnew’s beautiful and moving interpretation on alto flute takes this piece into a new. meditative space for me and it is fitting she has dedicated it to the memory of her lovely niece Nóra who very sadly passed away in 2019.