Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet 2008

for string quartet

Year:  2008   ·  Duration:  30m
Instrumentation:  two violins, viola, cello

Year:  2008
Duration:  30m
Instrumentation  two violins, viola, cello

Elliot Vaughan

Composer:   Elliot Vaughan

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first page of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This string quartet was written in 2008 as I was studying towards a Bachelors degree, and it wears its influences loudly and proudly. At that time I wanted to participate in the classical tradition, with its addiction to pitch and teleological form, and all that motivic coherence. Still, through the Bartók, Schafer and Shostakovich you can hear a developing voice in some ideas that I continue to explore: the winning out of the unpitched sounds in the first and last movements; reference to psychoacoustic phenomena such as echoes and Doppler shifts; the physicality of all those downbows in movement 4; pop elements like funky beats and whistle-able melodies; and especially the attempt to give the players parts that are really pleasurable to play.

Contents note

Five movements