Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for solo piano

Year:  2017   ·  Duration:  10m 30s

Year:  2017
Duration:  10m 30s

Films, Audio & Samples

Oliver Francis Huang-Hsu: V...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1, 4 and 15 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Written in the style of Neo-romanticism, the suite Tāwāhi is based on the melodic patterns of taonga pūoro — traditional Māori instruments. The title Tāwāhi means “the other side”, somewhere that is far, far away.

The composition is dedicated to a film director and composer friend who moved to Los Angeles with plans to make a musical film based on Māori themes, and had sought the composer's advice on how to incorporate taonga pūoro into the film.

In 2019, the 5th movement, "Epilogue" was selected by the Trinity College London as part of its Grade 6 repertoire list of the 2021–2023 Piano syllabus, and is available as part of the publication Piano Exam Pieces Plus Exercises 2021-2023: Grade 6 - Extended Edition.

Difficulty note

This work is suitable for children, adults, concert pianists, piano students Grade 6 and above

Dedication note

to Chris Chunk

Contents note

5 movements:

I. Prelude
II. Chasing the Storm
III. The Flautist
IV. Eternal Change
V. Epilogue