Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


New Zealand Folksong Suite

for wind orchestra/wind band

Year:  1994   ·  Duration:  11m
Instrumentation:  Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons, Eb Clarinet, Bb Clarinets 1-3, Eb Alto Clarinet, Bb Bass Clarinet, Eb Contra-alto Clarinet, Bb Contrabass Clarinet, Alto Saxophones 1-2, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, French Horns 1-4, Bb Trumpets 1-3, Trombones 1-2, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Baritone, Tuba, String Bass, Timpani (4), Percussion (Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal, Triangle, Glockenspiel)

Year:  1994
Duration:  11m
Instrumentation  Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes,...

Composer:   James Instone

Films, Audio & Samples

James Instone: 1. Soon May ...

Internal audio
See details ➔

James Instone: 2. New Zeala...

Internal audio
See details ➔

James Instone: 3. The Black...

Internal audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 3–4, 8–9, 13–14 and 20–21 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This suite was written in 1994 for the Canterbury Wind Orchestra to celebrate New Zealand folksong, as part of a series of concerts featuring new music by emerging New Zealand composers. The folksongs selected represent some of the experiences of early New Zealand colonial settlement in the 19th century, including gold mining, farming and whaling.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Canterbury Wind Orchestra

Difficulty note

Suitable for community, semi-professional or professional wind band

Contents note

  1. "Soon May the Wellerman Come"
  2. "New Zealand Whales"
  3. "The Black Swans"