Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Experiment

a musical monodrama

Year:  2015   ·  Duration:  50m
Instrumentation:  guitar, spoken voice, live and acousmatic electronics, video

Year:  2015
Duration:  50m
Instrumentation  guitar, spoken voice, live ...

David Chisholm

Composer:   David Chisholm

Films, Audio & Samples

David Chisholm: The Experim...

Embedded video
See details ➔


The Experiment reimagines Mark Ravenhill’s horror monologue as a 21st century musical monodrama. Stunning video art and self-playing instrumental interludes complete this immersive hybrid collaboration that explores the dark side of scientific ethics and moral relativism.

The Experiment is a solo work for virtuoso guitarist Mauricio Carrasco who recites text in the tradition of the genre as conceived by its pioneer Jean-Jacques Rousseau. Situated on the dark side of memory and identity, The Experiment features the visceral imagery of painter and video artist Emmanuel Bernadoux, in an immersive production designed by Matthew Gingold with music by composer David Chisholm and guest composer Fernando Garnero.

Contents note

Movement 1 | We ran the tests on the children
Interlude # 1
Movement 2 | Fairy Tale
Movement 3 | The Room
Interlude # 2
Movement 4 | I forget
The White Room (Interlude # 3)
Movement 5 | Nothing lasts forever
Epilogue Galatea