Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Three Concert Etudes

for piano solo

Year:  2017   ·  Duration:  10m 30s

Year:  2017
Duration:  10m 30s

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First two pages of each etude

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Three Concert Etudes, as the title suggests, are pieces designed for the recital hall requiring a degree of virtuosity in performance. The first etude begins and ends in the manner of a broken chord study framing a rather freer middle section. No. 2 starts with a repeated note figure that quickly evolves to an expansive section marked 'Allegro con fuoco', leading via a short bridging passage to a final lyrical section with the indication 'dolce e teneramente'. The third etude, marked 'Lively – Rilassato' is in the style of a relaxed ragtime number.

Three Concert Etudes for piano solo were composed in October 2017 in Xinzheng, Henan province, China, and are dedicated in friendship to the pianist and composer Gao Ping. The third piece carries an additional dedication – ‘In memory of Stella Egan (April 20 1927 – September 26 2017)’ written in honour of a wonderful lady and good friend, and to the many lively discussions and fun times Stella and I shared while visiting my mother at Somervale Village, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand since the year 2015.

The etudes as a set are at present unperformed. However, the third etude was given its first public performance by the composer at Somervale Village, Mount Maunganui on 14 February 2018.

Dedication note

to Gao Ping