Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet No 5

for string quartet

Year:  2018   ·  Duration:  13m

Year:  2018
Duration:  13m

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1 - 8 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Composed in 2018, this three movement work draws on previous works for string instruments.

The first movement “Murmures 3”, is a reworking of a cello quartet “Sacred Murmurs” where I was inspired by a visit to the Church of Our Lady of Kazan in St Petersburg, Russia in 2008. Here I saw a long queue of worshippers waiting to bow before the Lady’s statue. As they approached the dais, I heard a gentle murmuring as if the sacred place called them to utter forth. This murmuring sound develops and contrasts with a more overt sounding chant. The second movement extends material from near the beginning of my solo violin piece “The Dance of the Sibyl”; in particular passages where intervals smaller than a semitone appear.

The third movement reiterates the fluid cluster – like murmurings of the first movement but in a more dramatic texture with extreme dynamics.