Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto for Cello and Orchestra 'Chemin des Dames'

for cello and orchestra

Year:  2017   ·  Duration:  25m
Instrumentation:  2 2 2 2 | 2 1 1 0 | timp+2 | hp | str

Year:  2017
Duration:  25m
Instrumentation  2 2 2 2 | 2 1 1 0 | timp+2 ...

Gareth Farr

Composer:   Gareth Farr

Films, Audio & Samples

Gareth Farr: Cello Concerto...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Sébastien Hurtaud brings Fa...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

World War I links Farr and ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Written for celebrated French cellist Sébastien Hurtaud, Farr’s Cello Concerto is a tribute to the soldiers who fell on the First World War battlefields of France and Belgium. Chemin des Dames translates as “pathway of women”, which Farr uses to acknowledge the impact the war had on women and their families, as well as soldiers. Farr was inspired by his own family’s sacrifices during the First World War – his three great-great-uncles were killed in the war and are buried in France and Belgium. “The Concerto is a dedication to these three young lads,” says Farr. “But my sadness and anger is not just about the boys who died on the battlefield - it's equally about the women. There were women who died in combat, but there were also countless ones, like my great-grandmother, who suffered for the rest of her life with the loss of her three beautiful brothers.”