Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Piagne e Sospira

for SSATB choir and electric guitar

Year:  2015

Year:  2015

Mark Smythe

Composer:   Mark Smythe

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-3

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Discount available for bulk orders. Please contact

This piece was funded and written in a very short time frame, so that it could be included in Baroque Voices' annual "Alleluia: a New Work" concert series, which coincided with the composer's visit to New Zealand to work with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra on a film score.

The theme for the 2015 AANW concert was "Feel The Love", as was the corresponding Kickstarter campaign for BV to commission Mark's new piece. Commission funding was raised in only 3 weeks, and the piece was written in just one week, in time for final intensive rehearsals for the concert premiere. Phew!

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Baroque Voices via Kickstarter

Difficulty note

Professional, Community & High School choral groups in tandem with an intermediate/advanced guitarist (electric).

Dedication note

Dedicated by Brian Smythe and Liz Elson to their mothers, Peggy Smythe and Marjorie Elson

Text note

She wept and sighed; and when the hot sun’s rays had driven the flocks to rest in the cool shade, on the bark of pine or beech she wrote her beloved’s name a thousand ways; and in hard bark engraved the wrongs suffered and the many twists of fate; and then, rereading what she had written, spilt tears down her rosy cheeks.

Torquato Tasso (1544-1595)