Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Streets Ahead 2

for oboe and bassoon

Year:  2014   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  2014
Duration:  7m

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1 - 2

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Streets Ahead 2 is a duo of three pieces for oboe and bassoon and draws on moods from three streets in Nelson, New Zealand. The work is based on the earlier Streets Ahead for tenor horn and tuba.

The first piece 'Rutherford Street' is a lively rhythmic dance in changing metres reflecting the bustling activity of this main thoroughfare and named after the famous scientist.

'Boulder Bank Drive' is a quiet reflection of the calm water near the Nelson boulder bank where bird life is abundant.

'Collingwood Street' another of Nelson’s main streets, features another lively dance in which rhythmic patterns are gradually transformed.

Streets Ahead 2 was composed for Lucy Thomsen and Michelle Bryant two members of the excellent woodwind section of the Nelson Symphony Orchestra all of whom reflect the title of the piece.

Contents note

1. Rutherford Street
2. Boulder Bank Drive
3. Collingwood Street