Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for euphonium and piano

Year:  2012

Year:  2012

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


It is in one continuous movement, divided into three sections. The outer two sections are fast in tempo, with the final section forming a variation of the opening. The middle section is reflective and free in tempo by comparison.

A wide range of moods is created in this piece, ranging from the energetic and forceful opening to the melancholic and dreamy quieter sections. The final section gives the impression of being some sort of wild ride, with urgent rhythmic patterns and a jerky second theme. This score is notated at pitch. A solo part in B flat is available.

Commissioned note

Triptych was commissioned by Buzz Newton for performances in the U.K., and received assistance from Creative NZ, the Arts Council of NZ.

Dedication note

Dedicated to Buzz Newton