Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Tongariro, Op. 8

for piano trio

Year:  2002   ·  Duration:  12m 15s
Instrumentation:  violin, cello, piano

Year:  2002
Duration:  12m 15s
Instrumentation  violin, cello, piano


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Composed as part of a trilogy of works inspired by the central North Island of New Zealand mountain range in the Tongariro National Park. The three main mountains in the range are Tongariro, Ruapehu and Ngaruahoe. The other two works are Ruapehu for chamber orchestra and Ngaruahoe, which is still in progress.

The first movement represents the eruption of the volcano, the turbulence of nature is expressed in the rhythms and explosive dynamic contrasts.

The second movement, an elegy, reflects the quietness after an eruption and the beginning of a new era.

The third movement, a scherzo, represents the energetic beginnings of new life with all its youthful quirkiness, ending quietly realising that life that enormous energy is required to sustain the new life forms.

Difficulty note

Suitable for tertiary students and professionals

Contents note

in three movements