Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Quintet for Two

for soprano (or tenor), clarinet, violin and piano duet

Year:  2009   ·  Duration:  17m 30s

Year:  2009
Duration:  17m 30s

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Written for two multi-instrumentalist musicians, excepting the final movement which is for all five instruments which may be used when the work is performed by an ensemble of five players. Individual pieces may be extracted from the cycle and performed independently, or in various combinations.

Contents note

1. Clarinet and piano
2. Interlude 1
3. Voice and piano: 'Sudden Light'
4. Violin and piano
5. Interlude 2: 'Fugue for Two'
6. Piano duet
7. Finale: 'Strings in the Earth and Air' (tutti)

Text note

Text from Sudden Light by Dante Gabriel Rossetti and Strings in the Earth and Air by James Joyce