Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Quartetto dell'arte

for string quartet

Year:  2012   ·  Duration:  25m

Year:  2012
Duration:  25m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-8 of Adagietto Amoroso (4th movt)

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Quartetto dell'arte is a five movement polytonal string quartet with an existential secret programme. In addition, it uses direct transcriptions of melodies from the following recordings:

Movement One: Musique et Musiciens du Monde - Biélorussie (UNESCO); Kazakh Music Today (Topic Records Inc.)

Movement Three: Belgique Ballades, etc. (OCORA-Radio France); Lituanie - Le pays des chansons (OCORA-Radio France)

The second movement is a pointillistic double retrograde fugue using melodies by Verdi and Puccini, and the fourth movement juxtaposes melodies by Guillaume de Machault and Stephen Foster.

Dedication note

Dominique Denis

Contents note

I. Preludio (Scherzo-I)
II. Fuga Frammentaria
III. Gavotta Assurda (Scherzo-II)
IV. Adagietto Amoroso
V. Finale: Tarantella Tumultuosa (Scherzo-III)