Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


An Infinite Shore

for clarinet and string quartet

Year:  2011   ·  Duration:  20m

Year:  2011
Duration:  20m

Composer:   Louise Webster

Films, Audio & Samples

Louise Webster: An Infinite...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00" - 1'00" First Movement

See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00'' - 1'00'' Third Movement

See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00'' - 1'00'' Second Movement

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first 2 pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work for clarinet quintet in three movements was written following time spent in the north of Scotland, during which I visited the remote and desolate places that my family left behind when they emigrated from Scotland to New Zealand in the 19th Century. Although the music is not intended to be strictly descriptive, the image underpinning the work is that of an infinite shore that stretches from the line of steep cliffs at Badbea overlooking the North Sea, around the world to the rocky southern shores of Aotearoa New Zealand. The work draws on the tonal colour and extremes of pitch that are possible in the clarinet, and the extraordinary platform of sound of the string quartet.

Contents note

First movement 11.00 minutes
Second movement 5.30 minutes, slow and chorale like
Third movement 5.30 minutes, fast

Performance history

08 May 2011: Performed by the Karlheinz Company (Donald Nicholls cl, Alex Taylor, Emily Bowhuis vlns, Alex MacDonald vla, Rachel Wells cello) at the Concert Hall of the School of Music, University of Auckland.

+ Read More