Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Four Questions, No Answers

for mixed chamber octet

Year:  2011 Instrumentation:  oboe, clarinet in Bb, bassoon, horn in F, violin, soprano, guitar and piano

Year:  2011
Instrumentation  oboe, clarinet in Bb, basso...

Composer:   Kenneth Young

Films, Audio & Samples

Kenneth Young: Four Questio...

Internal audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The work began as a series of four miniatures; however, as is often the case, matters have progressed somewhat beyond mere frippery.

All the movements seem to me to have a questioning quality to them which seemed to coincide with some philosophical angst of my own, the details of which are irrelevant. This is in no way programme music and I would merely like for the listener to perhaps reflect on questions in their own lives, whatever they may be.

I have utilised wordless soprano alongside some Latin verse. In particular the very opening of the Mass for the Dead and the first half of the In Paradisum from the same Mass which is sung in the original Gregorian Chant. My home town of Christchurch has suffered terribly during the past 12 months and I wanted somehow to reflect this in some small way.

Dedication note

for Southern Cross Soloists

Contents note

a work in four movements

Performance history

11 Oct 2011: Performed by the Southern Cross Soloists at the 2011 Showcase Series, Concert Three, at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre Concert Hall, in Australia.

+ Read More