Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Ritual Echoes II

for solo clarinet, cello and piano with ensemble

Instrumentation:  solo clarinet, cello and piano; flutes, oboes, bassoons, horns, timpani, water gongs, violins, viola, cello, double bass

Instrumentation  solo clarinet, cello and pi...

John Elmsly

Composer:   John Elmsly


Ritual Echoes II began life as the second movement of a triple concerto for clarinet, cello and piano, and freely explores and expanding and contracting chant based layer, accompanied by a web of sliding fifths in the string parts, and numerous echoes and anticipations of the solo lines in the wind parts. Nearly everything in the piece is foreshadowed in some way in the first 'incantation' by the solo clarinet, which gradually opens out from a single tone oscillation.

Performance history