Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


six pieces for orchestra

for orchestra

Year:  2010   ·  Duration:  7m
Instrumentation:  3333; 4331; timp; 2 perc; strings | (Perc: whip, xylo., bass drum, glock.)

Year:  2010
Duration:  7m
Instrumentation  3333; 4331; timp; 2 perc; s...

Alex Taylor

Composer:   Alex Taylor

Films, Audio & Samples

Alex Taylor: six pieces for...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1 - 8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


six pieces for orchestra grew out of another, more substantial piece for wind quartet, which in turn was inspired and heavily influenced by Ligeti’s Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet. In some senses this is an orchestration or arrangement of my own work (eight pieces for wind quartet), but the aural experiments set up in that original piece are pushed further here, at times to the point of extreme severity. Three cloud-like movements are broken up by virtuosic, acerbic little interludes, each miniature movement exploring different psycho-acoustic directions and instrumental effects.

Alex Taylor

Contents note

I. Molto calmo e sostenuto
II. Con forza (e senza delicatezza)
III. Calmo
IV. Energico ridicolo
V. Lontano e bizarro
VI. Capriccioso

Performance history