Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

for piano and orchestra

Year:  2010   ·  Duration:  30m
Instrumentation:  solo piano; 3*3*3*3*; 4331; timp., 3 perc.; harp; strings | (Perc: temple blocks, sleigh bells, cowbell, tambourine, snare drum, glockenspiel, sleigh bells, maracas, 2 wood blocks, xylophone, sizzle cymbal)

Year:  2010
Duration:  30m
Instrumentation  solo piano; 3*3*3*3*; 4331;...

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell

Films, Audio & Samples

Arts on Sunday Interviews w...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Lyell Cresswell: Concerto f...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first page of each movement

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The composer writes: "Movements 3, 4, 5 and 6 were written before Edward (Harper) died, but he was already ill with cancer and the whole concerto was written under the shadow of this.

The first movement, Funeral March, opens with a sequence of low six-note chords in the piano. These chords provide the basis for the complete concerto and are treated in various contrasting ways in each movement. The orchestra becomes an extension of the piano, sustaining these chords and taking them where the piano can't go. The concerto is not a confrontation between soloist and orchestra – the piano is more like another section of the orchestra. A slow throbbing, but varying, pulse runs through the Funeral March – first in the harp, sometimes the timpani, sometimes pizzicato and, at the climax, with brass and woodwind. In the following tranquil Adagio the six-note chords are turned into serene melodic lines with quiet sustained chords in the strings. The first scherzo is short, fast and restless. The central movement, Addolorato (distressed, grieved, upset), is, in turn, slow and reflective (in the piano), and querulous and disturbing (in the orchestra), posing questions rather than offering solutions. The second scherzo is fast, light and fleeting – with a hushed centre. The second Adagio is composed of slow, unsettled and quiet chords leading to an angry outburst at the climax, and the pace in the final presto is only interrupted briefly with some reference to Adagio 1."

Extract from a review by Michael Tumelty for The Herald in Scotland, 19 March 2012.: "Stars of the night were Lyell Cresswell, for his volcanic, volatile Piano Concerto, and pianist Stephen de Pledge for his powerhouse delivery, with its sledgehammer force and shockingly steel-like clarity in the poignant, reflective moments in the music."

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Jack Richards for Stephen De Pledge

Dedication note

This piano concerto is written in memory of a close friend, the composer, Edward Harper, who died on Easter Sunday 2009.

Contents note

The concerto is in seven movements, which are played without a break:

  1. Funeral March
  2. Adagio 1
  3. Scherzo 1
  4. Addolorato
  5. Scherzo 2
  6. Adagio 2
  7. Presto

Performance history

13 May 2011: Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and pianist Stephen de Pledge with conductor Hamish McKeich in Wellington

28 May 2011: Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and pianist Stephen de Pledge with conductor Hamish McKeich in Auckland

17 Mar 2012: Hear and Now: New Music from New Zealand and Australia

23 Mar 2013: Christchurch Symphony Orchestra - FIREBIRD

Performed by The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and Stephen De Pledge, and conducted by Hamish McKeich

+ Read More