Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Still Standing Silent

for four musicians and a contemporary dancer

Year:  2009   ·  Duration:  50m
Instrumentation:  for B flat clarinet, tenor saxophone, percussion, contrabass - there is improvisation within set structures mostly for the tenor saxophone and contrabass

Year:  2009
Duration:  50m
Instrumentation  for B flat clarinet, tenor ...

Films, Audio & Samples

Alex van den Broek: Still S...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Video

Sample: Promotional clip

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


In my work as a composer I have found bringing together classical and jazz musicians to be a rich and unique way of working. I have experience in both fields and my compositional talent and interest lies genuinely across the two art forms.

This piece has been specifically composed for these performers and their unique sets of skills. Each performer is of a very high calibre and each possesses something special and unique in their playing and approach to music making. Mike Kime and Reuben Derrick often have moments of freedom as they are both accomplished improvisers. Gretchen Dunsmore and Mark Le Roche are classically trained performers with excellent skills and intelligent ears and minds. I knew that each of them would bring something to the work that would be unique and exciting.

More recently my creative interest in movement and form has expanded to contemporary dance and I wanted to involve and include another artistic discipline in this work. Collaborating with Julia Milsom has been an exciting new venture for me. The nature of the sounds within the piece are highly applicable to contemporary dance and have been interpreted and expressed with considerable talent and skill by Julia.

Layers of sound in time is a theme I have developed extensively in the piece. The layers interact, evolve, contrast, compliment, and conflict with each other to create a depth of space and time between them.

The work is an exploration of the timelessness that comes in moments of deep introspection through evocative sounds and movement.

Alex van den Broek

Commissioned note

A new work grant from Creative NZ enabled this work to be created and performed

Contents note

one movement

Performance history

10 Nov 2009: Still Standing Silent 1

11 Nov 2009: Still Standing Silent 2

Gretchen La Roche (clarinet), Reuben Derrick (tenor saxophone), Mark La Roche (percussion), Mike Kime (contrabass) and Julia Milsom (dancer) at St Luke’s in the City, in Christchurch

+ Read More