Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Spirit of Qin

for solo piano

Year:  1986   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  1986
Duration:  7m

Shen Nalin

Composer:   Shen Nalin

Films, Audio & Samples

Shen Nalin: The Spirit of Q...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work is the 5th movement of the piano suite Cao Tang, inspired by the character and poetry of the Tang Dynasty poet Du Fu (712 – 770). Spirit of The Qin refers to Du Fu’s poem, “On Receiving the News of the Imperial Forces Recapturing Henan and Hebei”. During the second half of his life, Du Fu had lived as a fugitive. The poem expresses his feelings on hearing that Hebei, where he was born, had been liberated. The good news came ‘like thunder’ and filled the poet with joy as he dreamed of his return home.

The Spirit of The Qin won the 3rd Place Award in the 21st Annual Composition Contest 1990 Composers Guild USA. It was published on “Musical Works” No.4, 1992 Issue 156, Chinese Cultural Publishing Cooperation, Beijing.

In 2002 this work was revised for the pianist and composer Gao Ping for his New Zealand tour.

Performance history

17 May 2002: Performed by Gao Ping at the Great Hall of the Arts Centre, Christchurch

21 May 2002: Performed by Gao Ping at School of Music, University of Canterbury, Christchurch

23 May 2002: Performed by Gao Ping at the School of Music, University of Auckland in Auckland

31 May 2002: Performed by Gao Ping at School of Music, Canterbury University, Christchurch

+ Read More