Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Cantata: The Spirit Within

for mixed choir, readers and string quartet

  ·  Duration:  46m

Duration:  46m

Composer:   Colin Gibson


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Contents note

I. Introit
II. Praise the All-Sustaining World
III. Reading
IV. The Time of Quiet
V. Reading
VI. A Spring Afternoon in New Zealand
VII. Southerly Sunday
VIII. November Morning
IX. These Hills
X. Reading
XI. Where Blows the Spirit?
XII. On the Swag
XIII. Reading
XIV. Let Justice Roll Down
XV. Reading
XVI. The Folly of Love
XVII. Reading
XVIII. I Sing the Grace of God
XIX. I Read Your Signature
XX. Praise the All-Sustaining World

Text note

Texts by Joy Cowley (4.), Anne Glenny Wilson (6.), Ursula Bethell (7.), Lauris Edmond (8.), Shirley Murray (11.), R.A.K. Mason (12.), Charles Brasch (19.) and Colin Gibson (others)

Performance history

Performed by Marian Hawke (soprano), Frances Moore (soprano), Edmund Hintz (tenor); Maureen Garing, Michael Keith, Ian Livingstone and Barbara Vaughan Murray (readers); Danielle Beaumont and Verity Beaumont (violins), Edward Aspey (viola), Esther Brown (viola), Jonathan Berkahn (piano) and the Festival Singers of Wellington conducted by Rosemary Russell at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Wellington in 2007

+ Read More