Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Clarinet Quartet - “The Liberation of Mr Norris”

for four clarinets

Year:  2007   ·  Duration:  20m
Instrumentation:  E flat/B flat clarinet, B flat clarinet, B flat/A clarinet, B flat/A/bass clarinet

Year:  2007
Duration:  20m
Instrumentation  E flat/B flat clarinet, B f...

Chris Adams

Composer:   Chris Adams

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First two pages of each movement.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Michael Norris’ article, Notes from a compositional/pedagogical apprenticeship, (printed in CANZONA 2005) is used as starting point for this piece. It is intended to be an artistic response to the article, a tongue-in-cheek realisation of some of the conceptual aspects that Michael discusses.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Anna McGregor

Anna McGregor

Contents note

I. A Journey into Monodic Variation
II. On an old theme; Ode to Ferneyhough
III. A Dilemma of Gesture
IV. WAPB; Dealing with the impossibility of developing “fully-fledged lyrical thematic material”
V. Epilogue; Insidiously Instill[ing] an Institutionally-Sanctioned Aesthetic

Performance history

17 Oct 2007: Performed by Rowan Meade, Anna McGregor, Natalie Harris, James Fry at the University of Auckland Music Theatre, Auckland