Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Girl with a Guitar: Words for Music

for mezzo-soprano, cello and piano

Year:  2000   ·  Duration:  8m

Year:  2000
Duration:  8m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 3,6,8; top half of pages 10 and 11; pages 12,15

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Girl with a guitar: words for music is a set of seven short poems taken, with the poet's kind permission, from Ruth Dallas - collected poems (Otago University Press, 2000). It was initially published in her 1968 collection, Shadow Show. The first performance was given by Panache, as part of a celebration of Ruth Dallas's poetry, in a multi-media production, 'Like flowers in rain'. The subject matter, drawing largely on nature images, is reflected in the titles.

Contents note

  1. Autumn Leaves
  2. Flowering Thorn
  3. By the Sea
  4. Boat Moored to a Willow
  5. The Shining Moon
  6. Tree on the Cliffs
  7. On the Plains

Text note

Poems by Ruth Dallas