Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Triple Concerto

for piano trio and orchestra

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  22m
Instrumentation:  violin, cello, and piano + 22*2*2*; 4331; timp., perc; strings | (Perc: susp. cymbal, bs.dr, vib., 4 tom toms, tamb.)

Year:  2005
Duration:  22m
Instrumentation  violin, cello, and piano + ...

Gareth Farr

Composer:   Gareth Farr


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Originally commissioned by the University of Waikato in celebration of the opening of the WEL Energy Trust Academy of Performing Arts, in its first incarnation the Triple Concerto was a single-movement work of 'overture' score and duration. It was composed for the Turnovsky Trio, who were to be Artists-in-Residence at the Academy. In 2005, Farr received a commission from the New Zealand Trio to expand the concerto into a full-length work.

Performance history

01 Oct 2005: Performed by the NZTrio and Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marc Taddei at Christchurch Town Hall in Christchurch

16 Aug 2007: Farr Horizons

12 Jul 2008: Music from a Farr

+ Read More