Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Under Southern Skies

for mezzo-soprano and piano

Year:  2003   ·  Duration:  45m

Year:  2003
Duration:  45m

Composer:   Jenny McLeod

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First page of each song

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Twenty-one songs for mezzo-soprano and piano set to short poems by Anne Powell (from her first collection Firesong). The poems have a strongly iconic 'kiwi' flavour, and also celebrate womanhood (some), childhood, nature and social consciousness. The complete cycle is c.45 mins and can be subdivided into two shorter cycles (Part I & II), or can be sung individually or in smaller groupings.

Difficulty note

Not suitable for amateurs

Contents note

  1. Shapes
  2. In the Heat
  3. Back Beach
  4. Some People
  5. The Circle
  6. Up North
  7. Here
  8. Aotearoa Litany
  9. All My Stars
  10. Soul Song
  11. Cosmic Breathing
  12. Turn Left
  13. Dancing Harp
  14. Going Deeper
  15. Freesias and Cardigans
  16. All the Time
  17. The Learning Tree
  18. Horizons
  19. 88 Vivian Street
  20. The Travellers
  21. Blessing

Text note

Text by Anne Powell