Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for solo violin

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  9m

Year:  2004
Duration:  9m

Robin Toan

Composer:   Robin Toan

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


'Violaceous' is an escape from tonality to the land of surrealism: a beautiful place of aural obscurity where serial and tonal elements are combined. The piece is predominantly serial, in four sections. The first section has two contrasting characters, the first is light and carefree while the second is reflective and emotional. They introduce two important motives. The first motive appears in the first six notes, it is a gesture that appears throughout the work in various disguises. The second is the minor second interval that dominates the latter part of the work. The second section is quirky and fun. It develops the grace notes and flourishes of the opening. The third section has the reflective character from the opening section. It gradually increases in tension until it reaches the fourth section, where the piece ends with the unleashing of a wild dance that frees itself by abandoning its rigid serial structure.

Contents note

In four sections

Performance history

Performed by Vanessa Tam