Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for orchestra

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  7m
Instrumentation:  2*2*2*2; 4231; timp., 2 perc.; str | (Perc: whip, mar., casta., bs.dr, shakers, glock., tam-tam, susp.cym, 4 tom-toms)

Year:  2004
Duration:  7m
Instrumentation  2*2*2*2; 4231; timp., 2 per...

Composer:   Maria Grenfell

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 5-12

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


'Alegria' is an education piece for children of primary school age. It focuses on aspects of rhythm and ostinato, and it is based on the flamenco principle of 3+3+2+2+2 (12 beat cycle). Flamenco music is based on Spanish gypsy music, and is often accompanied by clapping, so there are clapping parts included for members of the orchestra. The audience may learn the simple clapping patterns so they can accompany the orchestra when they hear the patterns. The central section in 5/8 is intended as an asymmetrical contrast to the duple and triple meters of the outer sections. "Alegria" means 'joy' or 'happiness' in Spanish.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Symphony Australia for the Symphony Australia network orchestras with financial assistance from the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body

Performance history

Performed by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra conducted by Colin Piper