Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


After Resonance Blues

for piano

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  11m

Year:  2005
Duration:  11m

Composer:   Bruce Crossman


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


After Resonance Blues explores the Korean idea of aftertone via interval-colour resonances and string after tones (partial un-dampening, prepared bass strings) as well as a Japanese intensification structure. Both of these relate to the idea of timbre grittiness and chordal intensification structure of the twelve-bar structure/grittiness in the blues. A spacious fourth resonance, very slow, at the very opening eventually opens out into a frenetic paced fifths sequence using blues riff patterns but intermingled with an interval-colour richness at the end-time climax. An after resonance string stimulation returns at the end to mirror the beginning prepared notes. The work contains transformed elements of Korean Ritual music; the mood is tinged with lyric sadness ("blue") in that it reflects an inner emotion over the death of a Korean friend's father prior to embarking on the work.

Commissioned note

Written for Marcel Worms as part of his blues series of commissions for performance in Holland

Dedication note

For Marcel Worms

Performance history

21 Mar 2007: Mozart Fellows Reunion Concert

Performed by Tom McGrath at University of Otago in February 2007

Performed by Tom McGrath (piano) in March 2007

+ Read More