Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



a chamber opera

Year:  2002   ·  Duration:  1h 10m
Instrumentation:  for soprano, mezzo soprano, tenor, bass, and string quartet

Year:  2002
Duration:  1h 10m
Instrumentation  for soprano, mezzo soprano,...

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Anthony Ritchie: Quartet - ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-9

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Quartet is based around the trials and tribulations of a touring string quartet, the Ithaca String Quartet, with the action being set on the West Coast of NZ before moving to the capital, Wellington, for the tour finale. The seven scenes are continuous, and explore the relationships of Penelope and Buddy (New Zealanders), Nadezhda (a moody Russian violinist) and Julian (a new-age American cellist).

Commissioned note

Commissioned by The International Festival of the Arts for performance in its 2004 festival

Contents note

Seven continuous scenes:
1. Hokitika
2. Beach
3. Westport
4. Motel
5. Greymouth
6. Beach
7. Wellington

Text note

Libretto by Stuart Hoar

Performance history

16 Mar 2004: Performed by Kate Lineham (soprano), Linden Loader (mezzo soprano), Jason Barry Smith (tenor), Brendon Mercer (bass) and the Nevine String Quartet at the NZ International Festival of the Arts; Soundings Theatre, Te Papa, Wellington

+ Read More