Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet No. 2

for string quartet

Year:  2003   ·  Duration:  24m

Year:  2003
Duration:  24m

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Anthony Ritchie: String Qua...

Hardcopy typeset
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 1'00" - 2'00" (movt. I)

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Melodic ideas and motifs are derived from a magic square by Renaissance artists Albrecht Durer, which appears on the woodcut called 'Melancholia'. The first movement is energetic in character, while the second is sad and melancholic, with a slowly rocking idea being suggestive of a lullaby. The third movement is obsessive in rhythm, with a gentler contrasting middle section. After a reflective opening, the finale bursts into a rustic, dance-like mood. Towards the end, various motifs from earlier movements are integrated into the texture and the work ends with a flourish. This is a substantial, yet approachable work for professional musicians.

Commissioned note

By the Nevine Quartet of Wellington, with funding from Creative New Zealand.

Dedication note

To the Nevine Quartet

Contents note

In four movements:
1. Allegro
2. Like a lullaby
3. Allegro pesante
4. Misterioso - allegro molto

Performance history

06 Oct 2003: Premiered by the Nevine String Quartet: Liz Patchett and Janet Armstrong (violins), Peter Barber (viola) and Robert Ibell (cello) in Osaka, Japan

22 Sep 2008: Performed by the Nevine String Quartet - Lyndon Taylor and Janet Armstrong (violins), Peter Barber (viola) and Robert Ibell (cell) at the Ilot Theatre, in Wellington

+ Read More