Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto Grosso No.2

for two violins, cello and string orchestra

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  9m

Year:  2004
Duration:  9m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2,21-22,25-26

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The title of this work may seem unexpected as there is no Concerto Grosso No. 1 in my list of works! However I've always considered my 1985 work for strings and percussion Well Done, Mister Bach to be a concerto grosso. That work features the leaders of all five string parts as a 'concertante' group. In a more traditional Baroque manner, this work features just the leaders of the first and second violin and cello sections as the soloists. My intention with the work was to write something in the manner of a Baroque concerto grosso, drawing inspiration from typical styles of the period. Mixed in are my own musical and compositional preferences, so that in the end the piece might be described as 'Baroque meets minimalism'. I finally gave into the temptation to give the three movements titles. The title, 'Prelude', of the first movement is a little ironic as it is longer than the remaining two movements combined. The second movement, 'Air on a Shoestring' suggests a rather brief, perhaps truncated air, in this case, a piece which fails to return to its home key. The final movement is in the manner of a Baroque fugue, I knew that university paper would finally come in useful one day!.

Concert Grosso No. 2 was commissioned by the Music Department of St Cuthbert's College in Auckland, and follows a commission from them the previous year for Whisper to me (for choir, strings and percussion).

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Music Department of St. Cuthbert's College in Auckland

Contents note

  1. Prelude
  2. Air on a Shoestring
  3. Fugue