Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Three Pieces (Autumn Leaves)

for violin

Year:  2000   ·  Duration:  8m

Year:  2000
Duration:  8m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1,4 and 7

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


These pieces were derived from certain pages from a French philosopher's work that I found in the Otago University library, during my year as Mozart Fellow in the School of Humanities there. This and the fact that they were composed during the autumn give the work its title. The realisation of the work involved processes determining pitch (encompassing the whole range of the violin) and rhythm (in quarter and eighth notes); although the compositional processes may have been simple, the performance requires considerable virtuosity. Written for violinist Mark Menzies, who gave the first performance at the 09(03) Contemporary Music Festival in Auckland in October 2003.

Dedication note

To Mark Menzies

Contents note

Three movements:

Loud and vigorous