Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for soprano voice, viola and piano

Year:  1995

Year:  1995

Films, Audio & Samples

Performed by Jane Manning (soprano), Gillian Ansell (viola) and Margaret Neilsen (piano) on 28 March 1996

Gillian Whitehead: Haiku - ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 3-6,18-20

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Haiku is a setting of twenty-one haiku written by Alan Wells, published in The New Zealand Haiku Anthology, edited by Cyril Childs (Wellington: The New Zealand Poetry Society Inc., 1993), and used with the kind permission of the poet.

Haiku, was originally written for instrumental ensemble to celebrate Douglas Lilburn's eightieth birthday, was rearranged and given its first performance by the Dunedin-based Lyric Trio (Ana Good, Rebecca Maurice, Joyce Whitehead). The haiku are concisely set; they draw on imagery both local and universal.

Dedication note

For Douglas Lilburn on his 80th birthday

Contents note

Two movements

Text note

Text by Alan Wells

Performance history

29 Mar 1996: Performed by Jane Manning (soprano), Gillian Ansell (viola) and Margaret Neilsen (piano)