Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for wind octet

Year:  1964   ·  Duration:  12m
Instrumentation:  2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons and 2 horns

Year:  1964
Duration:  12m
Instrumentation  2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bas...

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

APO Winds, 1996.

John Rimmer: Octet - AUDIO

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1 - 8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Composed in 1964, this wind octet is in three contrasting movements and is scored for the classical combination of pairs of woodwind and horns. The work has as its inspiration the classical octets of Mozart and Beethoven although the main compositional influences come from the 1930's 'neoclassical' soundworld of Stravinsky and Copland.

Octet was first performed at the Cambridge Music School in 1965.

Contents note

1. Slow introduction then fast
2. Arioso slow
3. Fast

Performance history

31 Oct 1996: Performed by Winds of the APO: Martin Lee, Stanley Jackson, Gordon Richards, Lisa Jennings, Philip Sumner, Ruth Brinkman, Nicola Averil, Erica Challis on 30th October 1996.

22 Jun 2008: The Ring of Fire

+ Read More