Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony No. 1 (Flowers of the Sea)

for orchestra

Year:  1994   ·  Duration:  28m
Instrumentation:  3(1.2.p) 2( 2(1.bcl) 2(1.cbsn) | 6 3 3 1 | 2 timp+3 perc | hp | strs

Year:  1994
Duration:  28m
Instrumentation  3(1.2.p) 2( 2(1.bcl) 2...

Composer:   Martin Lodge

Films, Audio & Samples

Martin Lodge: Symphony No. ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Completed as the major work during Martin Lodge's year as composer in residence with the Auckland Philharmonia, this single movement symphony for large orchestra has been hailed as "a remarkably poised and beautiful work... [containing] some of the most moving and beautiful melodic writing I have heard ... Martin Lodge is a single-purposed writer with the true symphonist's knack of sustaining an idea with economy". (Ian Dando, Music in New Zealand).

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia and premiered by them (conducted by Octav Calleya) during the composer's residency with the orchestra.

Dedication note

To Gail Elizabeth Pittaway