Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for piano, violin and orchestra

Year:  1995   ·  Duration:  20m
Instrumentation:  solo violin and solo piano; 2222; 4331; timp., 2 perc; strings | (Perc: gong, cyms, sn.dr, bs.dr, tri., tub. bells, xyl., glock.)

Year:  1995
Duration:  20m
Instrumentation  solo violin and solo piano;...

Composer:   Philip Norman

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First 2 pages of each movement.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


In 3 movements, this work was reviewed as follows, "There are proper tunes, there are pattems that can be traced, brass and percussion in abundance, and rhythms that dance light off the stage at you." Christchurch Press 11-95. This work was commissioned and premiered by the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra for soloists Iola Shelley (piano) and Jan van den Berg (violin) with funding provided by Creative New Zealand

Dedication note

For Iola Shelley and Jan van den Berg (in appreciation of their encouragement and support over the past years)

Contents note

Three movements

Performance history

Performed by the Christchurch Symphony conducted by Sir William Southgate