Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


six preludes and a postlude

for chamber sextet

Year:  1994   ·  Duration:  15m
Instrumentation:  flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and piano

Year:  1994
Duration:  15m
Instrumentation  flute, clarinet, violin, ce...

Composer:   Neville Hall

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 0:00-1:00

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-5.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The six preludes were conceived as solo pieces for each of the six instruments of the ensemble, with the accompaniment being little more than a faint shadow cast by the solo player. By contrast the postlude requires each player to relinquish their individuality and be absorbed by the ensemble, forming a dense and ever changing kaleidoscope of sound. In spite of the apparent contrasts between all seven movements they are, at a level beneath the surface, all manifestations of the same basic material and represent seven possible outcomes of the same process of growth.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Chamber Music New Zealand with assistance from Creative New Zealand. Written during the composer's tenure as Composer-in-Residence at Chamber Music New Zealand.

Dedication note

Dedicated to John Rimmer with thanks for his patient guidance and encouragement

Contents note

Seven movements - the preludes take the form of a solo for each instrument in turn with minimal accompaniment

Performance history