Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto for Soprano Saxophone and Orchestra

for soprano saxophone and orchestra

Year:  1996   ·  Duration:  17m
Instrumentation:  2221; 2210; 1 perc.; strings

Year:  1996
Duration:  17m
Instrumentation  2221; 2210; 1 perc.; strings

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-9.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This is a quirky but also soulful piece for an unusual and beautiful instrument. It is reasonably easy to play for the orchestra. It was commissioned by saxophonist, Mark Hobson. It lasts 17 minutes. (The original title of this work was Cartoon: Fantasy for Soprano Saxophone and orchestra)

Commissioned note

Commissioned by and written for Mark Hobson, with funding provided by Creative New Zealand (Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa)

Mark Hobson |

Contents note

one movement

Performance history

13 Sep 1997: Performed by Da Capo Orchestra and Mark Hobson (saxophone) in Christchurch