Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for violin

Year:  1996   ·  Duration:  14m

Year:  1996
Duration:  14m

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell

Films, Audio & Samples

Lyell Cresswell: Burla - VIDEO

Embedded video
See details ➔

Lyell Cresswell: Whira — VIDEO

Embedded video
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


'Whiria' is Māori for violin, or fiddle. These seven pieces were written over a period of three or four years for more or less personal reasons. The intention, however, was always to put them together to form one substantial work. There are, therefore, a number of cross-references and some ideas are developed from piece to piece. Although there are seven pieces, the overall shape is in five parts: numbers 3, 4 and 5 form a lighter middle section to the whole work.

Contents note

The seven pieces are:

  1. Recitativo
  2. Con anima - in memory of Owen Jensen
  3. Scorrevole
  4. Leggero
  5. Burla - for Douglas Lilburn's 80th birthday
  6. Lacrimae - for Vedran Smailovic
  7. Con fuoco

Performance history

09 Jan 2007: Solo violin concert

13 Jan 2007: Solo violin concert

13 Nov 2015: Performed by Martin Riseley (violin) at the Remembering Lilburn concert, Adam Concert Room, Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music, Wellington

24 May 2019: 2019 Organ Fundraiser Concert Series | Martin Riseley in Concert

08 May 2022: Performed by Mark Menzies at The Box (The Piano) in Christchurch

Performed by Daniel Bell (violin)

+ Read More