Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto for Orchestra and String Quartet

for orchestra and string quartet

Year:  1996   ·  Duration:  25m
Instrumentation:  String quartet + orchestra: 3333; 4331; timp., 3 perc.; harp; strings

Year:  1996
Duration:  25m
Instrumentation  String quartet + orchestra...

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work commissioned by the City of Aberdeen is in one continuous movement comprising eleven sections. The orchestra has 3 roles – to accompany, to assist the quartet and to supply much of the musical argument – it is of equal importance to the quartet. At its first performance, this work was described as "astoundingly successful".

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the City of Aberdeen

Dedication note

Written in memory of some friends who died too early

Contents note

One continuous movement comprising eleven sections

Performance history

05 Feb 1997: Premiered by Yggdrasil Quartet, Royal Scottish National Orchestra conducted by Anne Manson; Music Hall, Aberdeen, Scotland

30 Nov 2001: Performed by the New Zealand String Quartet and the BBC Scottish Orchestra, conducted by Kenneth Young at the 2001 ECAT NZ New Music Festival, Edinburgh

25 May 2012: Made In New Zealand - Wonderland

Performed by The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and the New Zealand String Quartet, and conducted by Hamish McKeich

+ Read More